Week 4 On the Road Again

This is Lise Hansen, Alicia’s mother:

Wednesday, September 18

We an enjoyed an hour-long, 6:00 a.m. phone conversation with Alicia from the Salt Lake City Airport, as she waited to board her flight to St. George.  She was traveling with a group of 12 sister missionaries, six of whom were going to the general St. George mission.  The remaining six are assigned to the St. George Visitors’ Center.   Besides Sis. Bolander and Sister Liu, MTC companions, these included Sister Schaeffer from Germany and Sister Hollander, from South Aftrica. She sounded good!  Enthusiastic, emotional.  It was great to hear her voice!

Thursday, September 19   A lovely birthday card for Mom!

Saturday, September 21    Birthday flowers from the missionary.   Not sure how she did that, but they were beautiful!

Monday, September 23.

We received a surprise hand-written, hand-delivered note via our friend Julie Stevens, who dropped in at the Visitors’ Center to say hello to Alicia while she was in St. George the previous Saturday.  What a great surprise!  Thanks, Julie!

St. George Visitors’ Center Interior, Temple View

In her quickly penciled little note she says:

I just want to take the awesome opportunity to tell you a few things.  My companion is Sister West, from Show Low, AZ.  She’s my trainer or “mission mom.”  She’s great!  My first area is called Green Valley, and I am working in the Visitors’ Center.  I’ll be here at least until Dec. 10.  We have a lot of work and everyone is wonderful.  I’m happy and I love you!

Green Valley South and West of St. George

Green Valley
South and West of St. George

Sister Hansen with President & Sister Center 9.18.2013 St. George Utah

Sister Hansen with President & Sister Center 9.18.2013
St. George Utah

Alicia's Trainer, Sister West, from Show Low, Arizona.

Alicia’s Trainer, Sister West, from Show Low, Arizona.

In the mail the same day was a large envelope from Alicia’s mission president, including letters from Pres. & Sister Center and Alicia.

I made it to St. George in one piece and happy!  Pres. & Sister Center greeted us at the airport and are so wonderful!  I love them already!  I knew the minute I saw the temple that I am in the right place, and I felt comforted and excited!

We were greeted with breakfast, too!  And Dad!  I met a lady who grew up in Utah and knows you!  Her name was Barbara Christensen, now Armstrong .   She is Aunt Peggy’s age and has a brother your age.  It was really comforting to meet her.    She works at the mission home, cooking and helping out.

Everything is great.  I’m so ready to work.  I am in love with my calling and with this beautiful place.  The temple is so stunning in person.  I am so lucky to be here.  I am ready to do what the Lord needs me to do.  I feel so corny, but it’s true.

Philippians 4:13                   Hymn #185              Hymns – All of them!  They’re all great!

I love you tons!   Hug the DOG!    Sister Hansen

Leave a Reply

