Week 7. General Conference was…stellar!

On the temple steps with Sisters Hee, Pene, and West.

On the temple steps with Sisters Hee, Pene, and West.

"Grandma, Mom, and Me!" Sister Duval trained Sister West, who is training Sister Hansen Sister Duval, left (from Canada), Sister West, center (from Arizona), Sister Hansen, right

“Grandma, Mom, and Me!”
Sister Duval trained Sister West, who is training Sister Hansen
Sister Duval, left (from Canada), Sister West, center (from Arizona), Sister Hansen, right

This week has flown by. I feel like it was just a day or two ago that I was sitting in about the same spot writing last week’s update. It is truly incredible how time flies on a mission. And we have been so busy this week!

First, though, before I talk about what we’ve been up to, I have to tell you Thank You. All of you. Any and every person who reads this blog. Thank you.

.
Mom reported that several of you have mentioned to her how much it means to be able to read my post each week. I’m touched. To be honest, when I read that message from her, I cried. It means the world to me to know that what I’m doing can help people at home as well as where I’m serving. Thank you for support, everyone. I can feel, every day, how lucky I am to have so many people thinking good thoughts and believing in me and praying for me. It is incredible to be in my position. I am blessed and humbled daily by just how much I have to be thankful for. My gratitude is beyond words. But I hope this can at least suffice: Thank you. And I love you.
.
General Conference was… stellar!  If you didn’t have the chance to watch it, it’s not too late!
STOCK.october-2013-conference-inside-crowdGo to lds.org and the videos for conference are available there. Pretty soon there will be hard copies of all of the talks that were given that you can read in church produced magazines like the Ensign, New Era, and the Friend. Those are spectacular. I have loved reading those while on my mission as part of my study. I used to take them for granted, but now I love them. Go pick up an Ensign and just bask in its awesomeness!
.
But anyway, Conference: We loved it. Truly. There were so many wonderful talks and I felt so uplifted and energized and just… ahhh. We were able to watch all four sessions. We saw the Saturday morning session at a member’s home with one of our investigators: Mike. I talked about him in the last post, I believe. But that was great. The kids were running around like wild animals and the baby of the family kept disappearing and having to be rescued from the great outdoors (she was a pro escapee), but the Spirit was still so strong. The room was full of good feelings and we learned so much.
.
STOCK.Quilting-180-735707We were able to watch the second Saturday session at an investigator’s home: Christine. She’s so wonderful. She loves to quilt. She has a super high-tech and impressive embroidery machine in her ginormous sewing room. She has said that one day we need to just come hang out and she’ll embroider stuff on a sweatshirt or something for us. Just cuz she likes us. Score. I’m excited for that. We love spending time with Christine. She’s so sweet to us and we are excited to keep teaching her about the Gospel.
.
Sunday morning we went to a family’s home: The Tripps. They are members, but not very active, and their two oldest daughters were never baptized. Oh my goodness that home is nuts. They all have so much energy. And their enormous dog, Blue, is, like, my best friend. She is forever trying to sit in my lap. And she’s about 3 times the size of Colsette. Really big. But I love her. She makes me miss Colsette a lot, and I love having another dog to love while I’m away from my puppy (who is now 13 years old, but whatever). But anyway, as crazy as that household is, when conference was on they were all so good. Everyone sat down in front of the TV with a notepad and pen or a “Conerence checklist packet” or something and payed attention. It was a really sweet experience.
.
St. George Visitors' Center Interior, Temple View

St. George Visitors’ Center Interior, Temple View

The last session we watched at the Visitors’ Center.  We were on shift in the evening so we just watched and tried to keep track of the visitors at the same time. We have a significant lull while conference was on, of course, but we still had a few tour buses come. But thankfully, we were able to watch all sessions. And I am so glad. And I took so many notes. I don’t know i that’s just me or if it’s a missionary thing, but holy guacamole. Lots of notes. But I’m so glad. I love reflecting back on what I was learning/thinking in the moment and being able to expound on that. I love, love, love it!

With Sister Sordes (France)

With Sister Sordes (France)

With Sister Schaefer (Germany

With Sister Schaefer (Germany)

With Sister Avanesjan (Germany)

With Sister Avanesjan (Germany)

We had Zone Training last Thursday.  On a mission, we are first put into companionships (two missionaries) and then we have groups of companionships that work together to keep track of one another’s progress, support one another, learn together, having training meetings, and so on and so forth. Those are called Districts. Then we have groups of Districts. Those are called Zones.  .

I hope that made sense. But anyway, we had Zone Training. I loved it so much. It is a blast to get together with other missionaries in a large group like that and feel of the collective love of the gospel and of the Savior, Jesus Christ, that fills that room.
.
Being in a large group of people in the same room that all have the same purpose and are all striving for the same things and doing basically the same things is energizing and humbling. I am surrounded by so many wonderful examples of strength, diligence, faith, goodness, and dedication. That is a huge blessing.
.
The training itself was powerful. We talked a lot about relying on the Lord and specifically relying on the promptings that come from the Holy Ghost. The most important thing about missionary work is that it isn’t about the missionaries. It’s about the investigator and their relationship with God. The missionary only facilitates the beginning and/or growth of that relationship. The missionary’s responsibility is to live and teach in a way that allow the Spirit to be the real teacher and allows the investigator to make the decisions for themselves and to come closer to Christ and to God for themselves. It’s so humbling and incredible to be a part of that process. Truly.
.
Well, I must end this soon. I have to be on my way and try to get thing done today. But I have just a few more things I wanted to mention.
.
A welcome visit from Sarah Carroll!

A welcome visit from Sarah Carroll!

I had a lovely surprise yesterday waiting for me at the VC when I got done being in my area. Sarah Carroll had driven up to see me! Sarah, if you’re reading this, I can’t tell you how much seeing you meant to me! (Picture attached) Thank you!

.
Again, I love you all. Please don’t ever forget how loved you are. And in the moments when you feel unloved and forgotten, know first of all that I love you. No matter what. But also know, more importantly, that GOD loves you. And He knows how to help you. Turn to Him.
.
Today is a good day to have a good day. So, have a good day!
.
I love you, I love you, I love you. Please never forget how special you are and how much you mean to me.
.
Love,
Sister Hansen
Leave a Reply

