Week 9. The Weeks Fly By

The weeks fly by. It truly doesn’t feel that long ago that I was writing last week’s message. But here I am again and I don’t even know where to begin.
.
This week’s post may be shorter than normal. My brain is abuzz with everything that has been happening and I’m afraid it would all come out in a jumbled mess if I tried to talk about everything.
.
But… here we go. I’ll try.
.
We had Mike’s baptism last Saturday. That was a wonderful, special, and beautiful occasion. I was asked to play the piano (shocker) and felt grateful for the opportunity to be employed in that way. I accompanied a friend of Mike’s singing I Stand All Amazed for the musical number as well as playing the opening and closing hymns and prelude. I’m just playing piano everywhere! But it’s marvelous. I truly, truly love it.
Mike Hasford baptism.October 19, 2013 Elders Daas & Niumatalolo, Sister Hansen, Mike, Sisters Duval & West, President Center

Mike Hasfjord baptism.October 19, 2013
Elders Daas & Niumatalolo, Sister Hansen, Mike, Sisters Duval & West, President Center

But the baptism itself is what is more important than me playing the piano. The Spirit was so strong and Mike’s face was about ready to crack, he was smiling so much. It was just…happy. That’s the best word for it. Everything about it was happy.
Mike Hasfjord Baptism  October 19, 2013 Michelle Wyson, Melissa Hasfjord, Mike Hasfjord, Matt Wyson, Sisters West, Hansen, &  Duval

Mike Hasfjord Baptism October 19, 2013
Michelle Wyson, Melissa Hasfjord, Mike Hasfjord, Matt Wyson, Sisters West, Hansen, &
Duval

The Wyson family–Mike’s friends and the Ward Mission Leader in one of our wards–was there and was just wonderful. They are just about the coolest people. Sister Wyson (Michelle) comes out with us on appointments and when we tract all the time. We can always count on her to help us out. She loves us and treats us so well. We are so, so grateful for her and her family. And they are hilarious and so good to us.
.
Well, I think the theme of this last week has been humility. And forgiveness. One of the things that has seemed to stand out to me a lot lately in my studies is how the Savior approached adversity and hardship. This is in reference to Elder David A. Bednar‘s talk on The Character of Christ from a BYU-Idaho Devotional address in 2003.  I first heard that talk at the MTC and it has already been influencing the way I try to treat others as a missionary. And as a person. I just hope it can influence me more.
.
Whenever Jesus Christ was struggling, in pain, persecuted, etc, He turned outward. He worried about others, not about Himself. In every instance where any one of us would fold in and start up the self pity and the wallowing and close off, He would turn out and worry about others. The first example that has stood out to me is found in Matthew 14.
.
This chapter begins with Herod beheading John the Baptist. John the Baptist was not only a man whom knew Jesus Christ but he was His friend. He was His cousin. He was family. And when Jesus heard the news of John’s death, He mourned. That was only natural. He wanted to be alone to mourn the loss of His friend and kinsman. Matthew 14:13-23 tells this story:

 13 ¶When Jesus heard of it, he departed thence by ship into a desert place apart: and when the people had heard thereof, they followed him on foot out of the cities.

 14 And Jesus went forth, and saw a great multitude, and was moved with compassion toward them, and he healed their sick.

 15 ¶And when it was evening, his disciples came to him, saying, This is a desert place, and the time is now past; send the multitude away, that they may go into the villages, and buy themselves victuals.

 16 But Jesus said unto them, They need not depart; give ye them to eat.

 17 And they say unto him, We have here but five loaves, and two fishes.

 18 He said, Bring them hither to me.

 19 And he commanded the multitude to sit down on the grass, and took the five loaves, and the two fishes, and looking up to heaven, he blessed, and brake, and gave the loaves to his disciples, and the disciples to the multitude.

 20 And they did all eat, and were filled: and they took up of the fragments that remained twelve baskets full.

 21 And they that had eaten were about five thousand men, beside women and children.

 22 ¶And straightway Jesus constrained his disciples to get into a ship, and to go before him unto the other side, while he sent the multitudes away.

 23 And when he had sent the multitudes away, he went up into a mountain apart to pray: and when the evening was come, he was there alone.

When Christ heard of the death of John the Baptist, He desired to be alone to mourn. But when He was followed by a multitude of people and saw their need, He turned outward. He put off His own worries and sorrows and performed the miracle of the loaves and fishes. This expression of selflessness is beautiful. And it is one of many. He had every right to go and be alone to mourn, but instead He took care of he people first and then took time to be alone.
.
Another beautiful example of the Savior turning outward is found in the account of when He was on the cross. In John 19:26-27, we read:

 26 When Jesus therefore saw his mother, and the disciple standing by, whom he loved, he saith unto his mother, Woman, behold thy son!

 27 Then saith he to the disciple, Behold thy mother! And from that hour that disciple took her unto his own home.

When Christ was in agony and about to die (see Atonement), He worried about His mother and her care more than He worried about Himself. He called upon His friend, John the Beloved, to take His mother as his own and take care of her. I love this. It is… there are no words.
.
My point, in sharing all this, is that in the times when I struggle most… when I am unhappy or offended or in general feeling sorry for myself, I try to stop. I try to stop and think about how Christ would approach the situation. He would turn outward. Every time. So why shouldn’t I? I have found that, nearly every time I am able to actually do this–when I am in situations like that and I reevaluate my disposition and focus on others more than on myself–I feel better. It’s so much easier said than done, but it’s so worth it. I invite you to try it. I’m not saying that any of you are selfish or anything like that, but I can promise that if you take those moments when you are offended, upset, etc. and try to think of others and how you can help them… you will see miracles in your life. You will feel happier more of the time and you will see more beauty in every part of your life. And you will feel more love for everyone around you and that just plain feels good.
.
Well, I must conclude now. Transfers are this next week so it might be a little while before I write again on a normal schedule. I will keep everyone posted on any changes that happen with transfers and anything exciting that happens because of those changes! You just never know what will happen! I can’t believe an entire transfer is here and gone. I only have 12 left! Ok… that’s a lot. But hey… slow and steady wins the race. Plus, it’s already rushing by and I don’t want to blink and have my mission be gone! I’ll be content to have it go slow so I can enjoy every minute.
.
Well, I’m rambling now. It’s a sign I should stop.
.
I love you all! Have a beautiful week and thanks to all of you who have written or emailed. It never fails to lift my spirits. I love hearing from you! Keep writing and if you haven’t been, I’d love to hear from you!
.
Love, love, love, and rice and beans,
Sister Hansen
.
P.S. Hymn of the week: #89 The Lord is My Light
One thought on “Week 9. The Weeks Fly By

  1. ((HUGS)) – I have not missed any of your blogs and want to hug you each and every time. I keep wanting to write and can’t seem to get to it. I never was very good at Journal keeping. Every time you write however, I can’t help thinking perhaps some of that wonderfulness will just flow right into me. After reading this. I know that it already has done exactly that. You make me so proud to have known you if only for a short time in this life. A spider web comes to mind in that in your eternal webbing, you have connected to my heart and oh so many more. Savor this time and thank-you for sharing all of you. Love you! Sister Felts

Leave a Reply

