Week 13. Twenty-one now…it was a really good day!

This will be a short post this week. I know I said that last week and then basically wrote a novel but… for real this time.
 .
Yesterday was my birthday!! I’m 21 now and that’s… yup.
Birthday Balloons Decorate my Cubby

Birthday Balloons Decorate my Cubby

My 21st Birthday Celebration!

My 21st Birthday Celebration!

But anyway, it was a really good day! I had a lot of people wish me a good day and it made me feel so loved!
I had FOUR cakes, count ’em FOUR.
Birthday Cakes Galore!

CAKES GALORE!

Ridiculous. One from my Bishop in one of our wards, Bishop Wilkinson, the Wysons (one of our ward mission leaders), Sister Watkins (the VC director), and one from my District Leader, Elder Lopez. So, yes, four cakes. And thank goodness I got to share them with the rest of the sisters at the VC. There was no way I was eating four cakes. No, sir. .
Zone Leader Elder Lopez, with Sister Hansen, Sister West, and Elder Sanderson

Zone Leader Elder Lopez, with Sister Hansen, Sister West, and Elder Sanderson

.

Well, I wanted to share something I’ve been studying lately.

.

This last week I studied the Christ-like attribute of Hope, from Preach My Gospel, chapter 6.

In studying hope, I learned a lot. Here are some highlights:
  •  Hope is the opposite of despair. (Moroni 10:22)  This made me think of the character Marilla, from Anne of Green Gables. She told a very distraught Anne Shirley that “to despair is to turn your back on God.” Therefore, to have hope is turn towards God, and rely on Him. 🙂 I love Anne of Green Gables, just to let you know.
  • Hope leads to eternal life (2 Nephi 31:20).
  • Hope is “an abiding trust that the Lord will fulfill His promises to you.” (PMG)
  • I made a cycle: Hope > Faith > Obedience (in a circle, though). When you are faithful, you take action and are obedient. When you are obedient, you can have hope that God will fulfill His promises.
    • That made me think of: Doctrine and Covenants 82:10, which reads: “I, the Lord, am bound when ye do what I say; but when ye do not what I say, ye have no promise.”
    • Also, Doctrine and Covenants 130:20-21, “There is a law, irrevocably decreed in heaven before the foundations of this world, upon which all blessings are predicated- and when we obtain any blessing from God, it is by obedience to that law upon which it is predicated.”
    • When we are obedient, we can have hope that God will fulfill His promises, and we know that we will receive the blessings that are obtained, based on the laws upon which they are predicated. And when that is all working for you, you have faith. And faith is a principle of action, so you are acting on your hope and that is obedience. It’s a big circle! And it’s awesome! I hope that makes sense.
  • Also, Hebrews 6:10-20
    • v. 15 And so, after he had patiently endured, he obtained the promise.
    • v. 19 Which hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and steadfast, and which entereth into that within the veil;
  • And, Romans 8:24-25 I LOVE THIS!
Well, anyway, those are some highlights from my study on hope. It was pretty epic.
I promised this would be a short post, and it is. So, to conclude, I have quoted a good friend of mine serving a mission in the Japan Nagoya Mission:
Elder Matthew Naylor:
“I love it here, and couldn`t be happier. Serving a mission is the best thing that has ever happened to me so far. I love all of you as well. Stand tall and proud with the knowledge that you are a child of an incomprehensibly loving and caring Eternal Father who reigns above the cosmos and watches over His children individually and tenderly. What an amazing blessing!”
He said it better than I could have, so I just quoted him.

Well, I love you all! Have a happy week and Happy Holidays!
Love,
Sister Hansen
The District - November 2013 - Green Valley

The District – November 2013 – Green Valley

Leave a Reply

