Week 16. Snow on the palm trees.

Snow on the palm trees at the St. George Temple.

Snow on the palm trees at the St. George Temple.

Good morning/afternoon/evening/night!!!!!

How is everybody doing? 
.
It really, truly snowed in St. George. I even have the pictures to prove it! It’s been crazy! It snowed all day long last Saturday. It just kept coming!
Snow in St. George!

Snowfall in St. George, Saturday, December 7, 2013!

The next morning we got a text from our Zone Leaders telling us that we weren’t allowed to drive anywhere because the awful road conditions.
Snow on the street near the temple.

Snow on the street near the temple.                      Sunday, December 8, 2013.

Ice everywhere like you wouldn’t believe, and St. George has no ice/snow removal equipment. It’s ridiculous. I grew up in snowy, wintry places, and it’s unreal to be in a place that doesn’t know how to deal with this! But since we couldn’t drive, and most of St. George wasn’t going to go out and drive either, we spent our Sunday morning shift in the Visitors’ Center basically having a missionary snow day.
We watched Christmas movies, took time to study our scriptures (which doesn’t happen when we are on morning shift very often, because we have to work during our normal study time), take pictures of the gorgeous fresh snow (and the temple), and see only a few brave visitors. It was pretty relaxed. And the snow still hasn’t melted! And many of the roads are still relatively treacherous. I’m grateful that both my companion and I were raised in places that got snowy and icy like this so we know what to do.   But anyway, it’s been sort of a sweet reminder of home. It still has nothing on Rexburg, though. Rexburg is just ridiculous.
Sister Hansen with a snowy backdrop at the Visitors' Center.

Sister Hansen with a snowy backdrop at the Visitors’ Center.

So, news for everyone! Transfer calls came last Saturday and we have begun a new transfer! And guess what? Nothing changed! For me, at least. Sister West and I are still together, in the same area, for at least another 6 weeks. We are so excited and grateful because we are teaching some really wonderful people and we have members in our area who are like family to us. It will be so hard to leave when the time finally comes.

.
I feel like so much has happened since I last wrote, and yet I can’t think of anything to say! Oh wait! I know! I have finished the arrangement for the Christmas Program. We are going to play a mashup/combination of O Come, O Come, Emmanuel and The Coventry Carol; written for Clarinet, Bassoon, Violin, and Viola. I’m praying that it comes out ok. When I first told the woman in charge of the program about the instrumentation, she looked at me like I was crazy. I don’t know. Maybe I am. But the composition student in me thought, “Why not??”  So I went right ahead and arranged it! I’ll let you all know how it goes. I loved working on this. Not only because I was finally able to write again, and for a purpose, but also because I was forced to do it by hand, completely, with not even a chance of Finale or Sibelius or any other music notation software (and I will be honest, I really missed it!). It really forced me to use my ear and the piano and I know that my composition teachers would be proud! I’m proud! I am so beyond grateful that I am having the privilege of using my talents in this way as a missionary! AND my bassoon should arrive today and I am so excited!
.
Well, I apologize, but this will probably be a short post. But I will try to be more exciting next week!
.
I love you all so much! Thank you for your constant love and encouragement! You are the best!
.
Happy Holidays!
.
Love,
Sister Hansen
PS from Mom:
Alicia’s friend Michelle Wyson sent this picture of Alicia on Wednesday afternoon:
"Our sister missionary with her treasured bassoon.  She missed it."

“Our sister missionary with her treasured bassoon. She missed it.”

Leave a Reply

