Week 23. The Sun’ll Come Out Tomorrow

Dearest wonderful friends and family!

Vanuatu, South Pacific

Vanuatu, South Pacific

There’s a sister working here at the Visitors’ Center named Sister Waiane. She is from the Pacific island nation of Vanuatu.  She speaks French, and has the most beautiful soul. Every time you ask her how she’s doing she says, “Super great!” with an incomparable, huge grin. And just about every time you turn around, rain or shine, she’ll greet you or say goodbye to you with this phrase: “The church is true!”  The best way to describe her is to say she’s a ray of sunshine. She beams with optimism, true joy, and conversion to and faith in the gospel of Jesus Christ.

.
The other day, when I was down or worried or something, Sister Waiane asked me to look up this scripture from the Book of Mormon: Helaman 5:47.
.
“Peace, peace be unto you, because of your faith in my Well Beloved, who was from the foundation of the world.” 
 .
Beautiful, no?
.
The scriptures are chock-full of situations where we are encouraged, advised, and even commanded to be optimistic! The Savior Himself spoke of optimism in many situations. Here’s just one example out of many, John 14:27, from the New Testament:
.
“Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” 
.
Click on the word for more examples of awesome scriptures about optimism or hope:  hope
.
Notice how both of the examples I used had the word ‘peace’ in them? That’s important. Peace is linked with optimism and hope. When you are optimistic and hopeful, you will be at peace!
.
I love optimism. But sometimes I am just so bad at it. I have such a knack for seeing the bleak and gloomy side of things. I want to be more like Sister Waiane, holding fast to optimistic thoughts like, “The church is true,” and never letting anything get me down.
.
The Sun'll Come Out

Click here to watch the video.

I really enjoy the movie/musical Annie, about the unstoppable, OPTIMISTIC red-headed orphan who changes lives with her infectious smile, song and dance, and fortitude. She sings a really sweet song with a beautiful message:

The sun’ll come out tomorrow,
Bet your bottom dollar that tomorrow there’ll be sun.
Just thinking about tomorrow
Clears away the cobwebs and the sorrow, ’til there’s none!
.
When you’re stuck with a day that’s grey and lonely,
I just stick our my chin, and grin, and say… Oh
.
The sun’ll come out tomorrow,
So you’ve gotta hang on ’til tomorrow, come what may!
Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya, tomorrow
You’re only a day away!
.
I love this. I love Annie. I don’t know exactly why, but today I felt like I should write a little bit about being optimistic, having hope, and looking forward to the sun coming out. I can promise you it will. And just as the Savior promised in John 14, He has given us peace that the world cannot give. Hope and Faith in Jesus Christ brings an opportunity to look to the future with absolute confidence, optimism, and no doubt whatsoever that the cobwebs and sorrow will completely vanish.
.
All is well here in St. George. We’re in that kind of in-between season where it’s not really the dead of winter, but it isn’t spring yet, either. I am looking forward to a season that has made up it’s mind and is going to be warm. However, I’m not so sure that I’m ready for 120 degrees, which everyone keeps reminding me of/warning me about. Looking forward to THAT. Ha.
.
But let me sign off with this: I’m happy. Because there’s no reason not to be. I love you. Yes, you, the one reading this right now. And I am so grateful for who I am, for my family, for what I’m having the opportunity to do, and for the beauty of the earth.
.
Not much news this week, but I will write more next week. I love life! I love my companion, Sister Leota. I love you, friends and family, and couldn’t be more thankful for you and your support!
.
I wish you all the best in all things always,
.
Love and rice and beans,
Sister Hansen
Leave a Reply

