Week 26. Many changes. Much joy.

Sister Leota, Sister Hansen, Diane Hansen Castro, Fabian Castro

Sister Leota and Sister Hansen, with surprise visitors Aunt Diane Hansen Castro, and Uncle Fabian Castro

Well hello, everyone!!

.
I have lots to report this week. Many changes. Many miracles. Much joy. This is the best.
.
We received our new assignments for the next 6 week transfer. Sister Leota… is leaving me. She’s headed north to a new area. I’m excited for her and the growth she will experience and the new opportunities she will have.  But it’ll still be a bittersweet goodbye. Goodbyes are tough!
.
With the new transfer will come a lot of great things! Over the past week or so I have become increasingly sure that I was going to be sent outbound, away from St. George and the Visitors’ Center.  I just felt more and more like that was inevitable.  I even began to sort out and de-junk and think about packing.  I was that sure.  And I was totally at peace with whatever was coming.
The St. George Mission boundaries cover most of the lower half of the state of Utah, and into Arizona to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon.

The Utah St. George Mission boundaries cover most of the lower half of the state of Utah, as far north as Nephi and Soldier Summit, and south into Arizona to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon.

In the past, when transfers came, I’ve been a wreck. I’ve been nervous, worried, stressed, and apprehensive. But I have reached a point where I know why I’m really here, I know who I’m serving, and I know that I’ll be sent where I’m supposed to be and the people I love in every area will be well taken care of and our friendship won’t end with a temporary separation. So I was really just ready for whatever came.

.
Then the morning of transfer calls rolled around. In the middle of our study hour, the phone rang and it was our mission president, President Center calling. Now, let me explain. President doesn’t make transfer calls. The assistants to the president make transfer calls. President only calls when there is something specific happening. So I knew before we even answered the phone. I’ve been assigned to train a new missionary! I’ll be staying in my area, with nothing else changing, except for basically everything. Ha. And I did lose the red truck. 😦 Now we have a Chevy something. It’s a really nice car, and I am just thankful to have a car.
.
Well, I’m trying to take deep breaths. I’m really nervous, but really excited. The thought that came to my mind when I got off the phone with President was,”The Lord doesn’t call the qualified; He qualifies those that He calls.” That was really comforting, let me tell you. Training seems like a daunting task, but it doesn’t have to be. Because, just as my mission motto has been all along, “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” (Philippians 4:13)
.
In other news, we have a baptism this week! Joe is getting baptized!!! And it is going to be pretty interesting because Sister Leota is leaving tomorrow and the baptism is… Saturday. And I don’t get my new companion for another week. Ha.
.
I’m being put in a temporary trio with the other sisters that serve in my stake/area. That will be fun. But I will mostly be on my own. I’ll work A LOT with the members and have a whole slew of temporary companions. I’m actually pretty excited. I’ve found that I have a tendency to work well under pressure when I start off with a good perspective and determination. Then it’s just fun because you feel like you’re accomplishing a lot and you can look back, however worn and weary you might be after, and be proud of yourself. And I’m definitely relying on Philippians 4:13 here, as well. But don’t worry. I’m in excellent hands. The members in my area are spectacular, loving, and I am blessed more than I can say. Wish me luck!
.
Well, the next time I write, I will have a brand new missionary/friend to introduce to you! I’m so excited!
.
In the meantime, I love you all so much. I wish you a beautiful March, a fabulous year, and many blessings! You all mean the world to me!
.
Love and rice and beans,
Sister Hansen
Cousins Janet Reid and Ruthann Bartschi, Aunt and Uncle Diane and Fabian Castro with Sister Hansen …………...

Love these funny people. When I saw them, I said, “Are you kidding me?!” And then I said, “You know you’re not supposed to be here, right…” And it was just so good to see them. I love them.
Salt Lake visitors: Cousins Janet Reid and Ruthann Bartschi, Aunt and Uncle Diane & Fabian Castro with Sister Hansen

Surprise visit from Rebecca Buxton, dear friend from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania Ward, via Salt Lake City.

Another surprise visit – Rebecca Buxton, dear friend from our Gettysburg Ward in Pennsylvania, via Salt Lake City.

 

The Cannons' mission ends and they head home…  We love the senior couple missionaries!

The Cannons’ mission ends and they head home… We love the senior couple missionaries!

Leave a Reply

