Week 28.Dearest Children, God is Near You

Dear friends and family,
.
My heart is full this week. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many miracles, so often, as I have on my mission. Maybe it’s just that I didn’t have my eyes open to them, because I think they happen every single day.A miracle, as defined in the Bible Dictionary, is
.
“an extraordinary event caused by the power of God. Miracles were and are a response to faith and its best encouragement. They were never wrought without prayer, felt need, and faith.”
.
While on shift at the Visitors’ Center yesterday, two of the sisters came in from their p-day errands to report that there had been a bad car accident. Four of our VC sister missionaries had been involved, and two had been taken in an ambulance to the hospital. Before I continue, let me assure you that everyone is ok.
.
Almost as soon as we heard of the accident, most of us were offering prayers. We didn’t have very much information beyond the fact that there had been an accident and there had been an ambulance taking two of the sisters to the hospital. We were essentially in the dark as for the rest of the story. All we could do at that point was pray. So we did.
.
Amazingly, as the shift continued and the time marched on, I felt calm. I probably would have normally been weary with worry and anxious for news. But I was calm. Other sisters around me were pacing and worrying, but I was calm. I think, more than anything, Heavenly Father was keeping me that way so that I could hold it together and continue to do my job. The Visitors’ Center can be kind of crazy on Monday nights because lots of families like to spend their Family Home Evening there.  We were needing to prep for that and I am convinced that I was kept from going nuts so that we could be ready.
.
A few hours later, in the early evening, two of the sisters involved in the accident came through the VC doors. The sister in this companionship that had been taken in the ambulance was wearing a neck brace. She looked relatively calm, too, and assured us that she was ok. Then someone asked what had happened and as she related the details of the accident, she grew more and more emotional. It hadn’t really hit her yet, she said, and she was realizing just how lucky and blessed and protected they had been. It was hard not to have tears come to my eyes as I listened to her bear her testimony of the reality of guardian angels and of God’s hand in our lives.
.
Last night, one of the other two sisters came by and we spoke for a few minutes. She told us of the gratitude she has for the way that God protects His children. She said, “I don’t know how many angels were surrounding that car, but I know there were lots.” She also told me that as she was standing there, watching her companion and friend being taken away in an ambulance, the wreckage still before her, she was feeling so lost. Then she saw our mission president and his wife, President and Sister Center, pull up and felt relief wash over her. They really are like our parents away from our parents. President came straight to her and embraced her, assuring her that it was going to be ok. We are blessed with unbelievably incredible mission leadership. We have two amazing pillars of faith, strength, and love that lead and teach and train and care for us. I don’t think we could be any luckier.
.
So, the end result, or at least the current status, is that the two sisters that were injured are doing alright. It was serious, of course, but they are recovering and the injuries were very minor. We are just so grateful for the fact that they are safe and were protected.
.
In other news, all is well. This accident and the testimony of guardian angels and divine protection that has resulted from the situation has been the most significant event of late, so I don’t really have much else to report. But I just want to tell you that I really do believe that our Father in Heaven looks out for us and protects us. Guardian angels surround us and help us, even and maybe especially when we aren’t looking. Miracles happen every day, and they are always accompanied by faith. And prayer. I’m so grateful for the prayers that were offered.
.
I love you all. Stay safe. Drive safe. Stay in contact with your Father in Heaven. Look for small miracles. Love them. Love everyone around you.
.
I love you to pieces and am grateful for each and every one of you.
.
Much love,
.
Sister Hansen
.
Verse 1
Dearest children, God is near you,
Watching o’er you day and night,
And delights to own and bless you,
If you strive to do what’s right.
He will bless you, He will bless you,
If you put your trust in him.
Leave a Reply

