35. New Area, New Apartment, New Companion

May 26, 2014

Dear friends and family and everyone important,

I love you.
.
Every week when I read the updates that my parents send me, I seem to cry. I’m filled with gratitude as I hear of the great experiences they are having, the love they are feeling from the ward and community, and of all the successes that seem to abound in my circle of friends (both and and off their missions). Thank you for being in my life and being so good to me and my family. You’re all worth more than gold.
.
Well, I have some news for everyone. There are big changes ahead. We are just hitting another transfer and I am heavily affected. I’m leaving Bloomington and headed to Washington City.  I will still work in the Visitors’ Center.  Washington is just a couple miles away. My new companion is Sister Pearson, from New Castle, England. I’ve known her for a while, just from the VC, so I am so excited! A new area, a new apartment, a new companion. New adventures!! Sister Arnold will stay in Bloomington and get TWO, count ’em, TWO new companions. She’ll have the adventure of being in a trio for a while. I’m so excited for her!
..
2014.06.04.AGH.Arnold.1729

Sister Hansen with Sister Arnold

So, as a good-bye tribute to Sister Arnold: a funny story to share:

..
The other day while on a lunch break, we sat pleasantly eating our spaghetti and egg salad sandwiches (not combined, she had spaghetti and I had an egg salad sandwich) and chatted. It’s a long story as to how we got on the following subject, so just go with it.
.
Sister Arnold said, “Yes, sometimes I can be a dominant person.”  I scoffed and said sarcastically, “Oh, really?”  We both laughed and then she said, more seriously, “Yeah, well, whenever someone’s shorter than me, I have a problem.”
..
And then we sat in an awkward silence in which we realized… I am shorter than her. Then we had a good, hearty laugh. I’m really going to miss her.
.
In other news, we had a baptism this last weekend! It was such a sweet experience. I gave a talk on the Holy Ghost and couldn’t make it two sentences in without crying. Emotions were high because I knew I was leaving and hadn’t been able to tell them yet. So, I just accepted it and cried my way through the talk. The whole thing was so wonderful. Sister Arnold and I sang a duet of “I’m Trying to Be Like Jesus” and “When I am Baptized.” It was really amazing to be involved with that family and “Ryan,” as I called him last blog post. He’s the sweetest.
.
Well, I’m signing off for now. I’ll be back next week with more adventures to report!
.
Love and rice and beans,
Sister Hansen
.
P.S. At the VC lately, I seem to be meeting a ton of people from Washington. It’s a sign! 🙂
Leave a Reply

