49. Whether by the Lord’s own voice or that of his servants…

Dear friends and family,STOCK.Christ.resurrected.Clawson

I approached this last General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints with a few questions.

I needed direction from God and I knew that if I expressed faith in Him by listening to His prophet’s voice, I could find that needed direction. After all, we are taught in Doctrine and Covenants 1:38 that “…whether by [the Lord’s] own voice or by the voice of [His] servants, it is the same.” Listening to the living prophets and apostles is the same as listening to God.
 .
I was right. I found direction and answers. But it came in a humbling and unexpected way.
 .
My specific question is irrelevant, but the answer is everything. The answer was… Christ.
.
I was humbled to realize that the answer to what has been plaguing me has been in front of me, printed on a tag and clipped to every article of clothing I wear, in the scriptures I read daily, a part of nearly every conversation I have, and the very reason I have air to breathe, a beating heart, and any scrap of hope for living again with the God and Heavenly Father that I love so dearly.  I speak of Him so much, I teach of Him so often, that I have forgotten to trust Him, without realizing it.
.
I was seeking confidence in this, that, and the other thing, and was looking for specific steps that I  needed to take – a sort of self-help checklist that I could go through and check off and somehow magically have a solution. But what I didn’t realize is that what I really needed was more faith in Christ.
 .
One of my favorite scriptures is in Philippians 4:13. It reads,
.
“I can do all things through Christ, which strengtheneth me.”
.
This verse has followed me my whole mission and has become my motto in moments of struggle, moments of determination, and moments of needed peace. I know this to be true. But not just for me. I know that the answer to all questions and all problems is… Jesus Christ. He is our Savior, Redeemer, Brother, Friend, Advocate, and so much more. We can do ALL THINGS through Him. Let that STRENGTHEN you.
 .
Seek Him. I implore you. If you have included Him in your life already, include Him more. Seek to more earnestly pray for that which you need, and that which you are grateful for. Regardless of your faith, religious association, status in life, whatever – SEEK HIM. I can promise you that life is more full, more joyful, more steady… with Christ.
.
I would love to invite you to begin with the simple things: Prayer. Pray daily. Start right now. And make it a habit.
I love you. But that’s not nearly as important as the fact that HE loves you.
.
Much love and all good things,
.
Sister Hansen
.
Conference talk of the week:  Click on the image below to watch the video:
Screenshot 2014-10-13 14.35.15
Hymn of the week:
.
Have I Done Any Good in the World Today?     <- Click on the title for words & music.
.
Leave a Reply

