53. Have you studied the scriptures today?

November 5, 2014

Dear friends and family,

This is the last week of the six-week transfer period. Time is FLYING. This is craziness. Next time I write I will have transfer news.

STOCK.Book_of_Mormon_translationsAt the Visitors’ Center we have a Book of Mormon table. It displays 77 copies of the Book of Mormon in various languages. One of them is Welsh. Little known fact about me, it is a dream of mine to learn Welsh. I just think it is fascinating!  So anyway, about a week ago I greeted a man in the Visitors’ Center. Upon asking where he is from, I learned he is from…Wales!  I got really excited and told him about my desire to learn Welsh. He proceeded to teach me, with the help of his wife, the Welsh alphabet. They wrote it down for me. I promised them that I would report to them on improvement in my Welsh language skills and they said they would let me know how their Book of Mormon reading is going. I think it was a good deal. Win-win for everyone involved. Spiritually and intellectually and culturally. He also said that I should look them up if I’m ever in Wales. I think that sounds like a plan. 🙂

Last week as we were walking around part of our area, a car drove by us towards the high school up ahead. Someone shouted out the window, “The church is true!” as they sped by. It was delightful. 🙂 Wave to the missionaries!  Tell them hello!  You’ll brighten their day!!

This morning as I was studying, I came across something I would like to share with you. It is in Jacob 7 in the Book of Mormon.

Jacob says, in verse 23,

23 And it came to pass that peace and the love of God was restored again among the people; and they searched the scriptures…

What struck me was that when the “love of God” was restored, people searched the scriptures! Scripture study, therefore, is a way of demonstrating our love of God.

Then verse 25 expanded this for me. Just after talking about searching the scriptures, Jacob mentions and explains that they are still experiencing animosity (to put it lightly) from the Lamanites, and they constantly have to defend themselves.

 25 Wherefore, the people of Nephi did fortify against them with their arms, and with all their might,  trusting in the God and rock of their salvation; wherefore, they became as yet, conquerors of their enemies.

I love this! Because of their love of God they searched the scriptures…  And here’s where I take and apply their need to defend to scripture study. Loving God leads us to study the scriptures. Studying the scriptures allows us to trust God and “arm” ourselves with truth and thereby become “conquerors of [our] enemies.”  This is spiritual, physical, literal, and emotional enemies. Feast upon the words of Christ, and they shall tell you all things what ye should do, and they will allow you to be able to withstand, defend, and conquer any enemy.

Have you studied the scriptures today?

I love you all so much!!

Much love and rice and beans,

Sister Hansen

Leave a Reply

