64. Try change

kanab-utah
February 17, 2015
Dear Friends and Family,
.

I am sitting in the Kanab City Library, typing…  Yes. Kanab.  We are on exchanges right now and it happens to be the day that we had to email, so I get to do it in Kanab!

I never thought I would be back here emailing. Being back in old areas is surreal and a privilege, actually. You get to go places you never thought you would return to see.

This last week was a whirlwind!  But what week isn’t?

We had a baptism on Saturday! And just that same day, a sister that I taught here in Kanab went through the temple for the first time! It was a gorgeous day, sunny, and a little chilly (the wind especially, as we rode our bikes from our apartment to the church for the baptism). But it was the most beautiful weather for such a day.

In my study of the Book of Mormon, I came across the story of Alma, one of the greatest Book of Mormon missionaries, and Amulek. I learned something significant from Alma today as I read.

Alma was traveling and preaching the word of God everywhere he went. He was pretty successful, too. Most places received him well and he was able to do a lot of good. But then he came to the city of Ammonihah. He was not received well and the people were not willing to listen and even threatened his life. So he got right out of there. As he was leaving the city and feeling very sorrowful because of the blessings and joy the people were missing out on, an angel visited him and commanded him to go back. Diligently and obediently, Alma turned back. But this is what impresses me most: when Alma was commanded to return to the less than receptive Ammonihah, he “entered the city by another way” (Alma 8:18). He didn’t try the same old thing expecting a different result. He tried something new.
 .
How often do we encounter a problem and try to fix it with the same old things? Sometimes, I grant you, the tried and true, time tested and proven methods are the go-to-solutions and will work like a charm every time. But when we have tried and tried and have had no success or peace, it may just be time to try something different. I’ve heard the definition of insanity put like this: “Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”
.
In a meeting I went to last week, our mission president shared a story about a company that decided to try an experiment. One day they changed out all of the incandescent light-bulbs for florescent bulbs. What do you suppose happened? Productivity rose! After a period of time, they switched the light-bulbs back to incandescent. What happened then? Well, productivity rose again! It was the CHANGE that brought an increase and an improvement.
 .
Who knows why I needed to share this today… I know that Sister Archambault and I are trying to do new things because we are seeking to be more successful and, as she keeps putting it beautifully, “blessing more lives.” So we are switching around our light-bulbs.
 .
You know, Sister Archambault is amazing. And very patient. I’ve been on a real roller-coaster and she has been a steady pillar and unwavering friend. She is putting up with a lot from me and I am so grateful for her. I know the Lord places people in our lives at the right time and in the right way so that we can grow. That’s why we really have to “trust in the Lord with all [our hearts]; and lean not unto [our own] understanding” (Proverbs 3:5-6). Just as we read in Isaiah 55:8-9:
.
8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.
9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

.

His ways are higher. He knows what we need to do. Try doing them His way. Trust Him. And trust me, I need to try this as much as the next person. So we’ll work on it together. 🙂

 .
Have a beautiful week. Trust the Lord! See miracles!
 .
Much love,
.
Sister Hansen
 .
2015.2.17.Liu.AGH.02413

With Sister Liu

DSC02411

With Sister Schaeffer

DSC02400

With Sister Schneider

Leave a Reply

