65. This is for the birds!

February 23, 2015Bird_in_Snow

Hello all!!

This morning, first of all… it snowed! We have been having balmy 60s and 70s – jacket weather, you know.  And now… snow! I was tickled! I almost broke out the Christmas music and hot chocolate, but I didn’t. 🙂 I was tempted, though!
 .
Later in the morning, our mission president’s wife, Sister Center, texted us with a beautiful scripture and some kind words. The scripture was Moroni 8:3:
“I am mindful of you always in my prayers, continually praying unto God the Father in the name of his Holy Child, Jesus, that he, through his infinite goodness and grace, will keep you through the endurance of faith on his name to the end.”
She commented on the phrase “through the endurance of faith on [His] name,” saying that that is what we do–endure in faith. It meant a lot for her to send this sweet message. It seems like this has been a big lesson that I have been learning lately: endurance, faith, and patience. And how they go together. It seems that if you have faith, you have to also have patience, and vice versa. Without patience, faith grows weak, and without faith, patience feels wasted. It’s a beautiful connection. The Christ-like attributes are all linked together. And they are all catalyzed by gratitude. The Lord continually teaches me how important it is to rely on Him and how to do it. How grateful I am, because it must never be forgotten.This is going to be a short blog. But I do want to include a couple of funny stories:
.
Funny story #1:
So, Sister Archambault and I have been friends for a long time. We’ve served around each other in the Visitors’ Center since the beginning of her mission and have had lots of adventures together. Most of our adventures have involved breaking things. Never badly or beyond repair, but we seem to have some kind of knack. While together, the button/pushy-thingy on the water fountain in the Visitors’ Center broke off. We put it back, though, don’t worry. Good as new. Well, just the other day while at home planning, I went to grab something out of the freezer and the handle fell off. We lost it, because of the situational irony. Oh, it is really the little things, is it not? 🙂
 .
Funny story #2:
Sister Archambault hates birds. Melanie Castro, if you are reading this, I think you two would really get along. 😉 Anyway, she hates birds. Let me just emphasize that. The other night we went to visit the senior couple missionaries that serve in our stake and as we approached their door, a bird flew out suddenly from the doorway and scared us both. She had just about recovered from her shock, when a bit later we were inside another house and to teach a lesson, and we were greeted by yet another bird. This one was a pet of the family we were visiting. During the course of our lesson, one of the kids in the family felt a need to retrieve the pet bird and bring it to the living room where we were all sitting. And – to throw it into the air. It was TERRIFYING!  I understand bird phobias now. The bird flew right as us and I instinctively raised my hands in self-defense! Luckily, the lesson went well, the Spirit was felt, and no one was harmed or too badly spooked by any fowl. Or, you know, birds. 🙂
 .
Good times.
 .
This is the life. 🙂
 .
I love you all so much. I couldn’t think of a single thing I would rather be doing with my life right now than being right where I am. Thank you for loving and supporting me and for all of your faith! Stay strong and know you are loved!
 .
Much love and rice and beans,
 .
Sister Hansen
Leave a Reply

